• PB Sports Staff

    Senior Writer/Founder- Brant Houghton

    Co-Lead Blogger- Sam Klein

    Featured Contributor- Griffin Van Nest

    Featured Contributor- Josh Dhani

    Graphics Designer- Tristan Meiselbach

  • Share This Blog

    Bookmark and Share
  • Miami Dolphins 2010 Draft Picks

    * 28th - 1st Round- Jared Odrick
    * 40th- 2nd Round- Koa Misi
    * 73rd - 3rd Round- John Jerry
    * 119th - 4th Round-A.J. Edds
    * 145th - 5th Round-Nolan Carroll
    * 163rd - 5th Round-Reshad Jones
    * 212th - 7th Round-Chris McCoy
    * 252nd- 7th Round-Austin Spitler

Interview With Rookie linebacker A.J. Edds

With summer already here, this brings team OTA’s. These activities are a chance for rookies to get acclimated to the playbook, and the NFL life. For Miami players, it gives players a chance to play in the heat, and get the feel of that.
 
Playoff Bound Sports’ own Brant Houghton recently had the chance to sit down with rookie linebacker A.J. Edds, and asked him a variety of questions, relating to the Miami heat, to some of his favorite moments in his college career, and the whole draft process in general.

Rookie linebacker A.J. Edds is looking to make an impact anywhere he can in his rookie year with the Fins.

 
Brant Houghton: A.J. you were recently drafted by the Miami Dolphins, what were some of the thoughts that were going through your head when you found out that you were the newest member of the Fins?
 
A.J. Edds: I was very excited. We had recently just played in the Orange Bowl in Miami and had success, so I was definitely looking forward to getting back to Miami to pick up where my college career left off. 
 
BH: What are your expectations for training camp this year, in the Miami heat?
 
AE: I know it will definitely be an added challenge to deal with the South Florida heat during camp. But that is something that neither I nor anyone has any control over, so I don’t see it as an issue worth losing sleep over. That said, hopefully during OTAs and the off-season training in Miami my body will get acclimated to the temperatures.

BH: Do you have an off-season workout regimen at all, to help you prepare for the rigors of training camp, and for the longer pro season?

 
AE: I don’t have any one thing that I will do in order to be ready for camp. I will definitely focus on the little things like proper nutrition, getting sleep at night, taking care of my body, etc. to help with the transition into the longer NFL season. 

BH: You had an outstanding college career at Iowa. Just watching your highlights tapes you can see you excel in college. Can you tell us what you think are your strengths and weaknesses?

 
AE: I think playing in coverage is one of my biggest strengths right now. I also think my overall awareness and understanding of the game is something that helps me. As far as weaknesses, I did not pass rush much at Iowa so I don’t think that would be a ‘strength’ of my game right now, but I am eager to learn because I know I can be successful with it. 

BH: Do you have any goals at all for your rookie season?

 
AE: Nothing can be assumed, so my first goal is to make the team and be on the active roster. From there, I hope to play a lot on special teams all year and be able to play a significant amount of snaps on defense. Basically, I want to do whatever this team needs me to do in order to win. 

BH: Looking back on your college career, what were some of your favorite moments at Iowa on the gridiron?

 
AE: I was fortunate enough to have a lot of great moments throughout my career at Iowa. Every game my senior year was an adventure, so it was very rewarding to win the games the way we did. But if I had to pick one moment it would be my junior year when we beat Penn St. at home on a last second FG. They were #3 in the country and it was a well played game. Winning the Orange Bowl as a senior is also a memory I will always carry with me. 

BH: Playing in the Big 10 has to be tough, playing against such hard nosed and even teams 24/7. Do you think that you have a little bit of an advantage that way coming into the NFL, playing against such good competition all the time?

 
AE: I think playing in the Big 10 is something that will definitely help in my transition into the NFL. Every week every team has a chance to win so you truly have to show up each and every week ready to roll. I also think the pro style offenses we played against in the Big 10 are a good preview of what to expect from NFL offenses. 

BH: What was the whole draft process like for you?

 
AE: I never really got too stressed out about the draft. I’m a firm believer that things happen for a reason and everything works the way it is meant to. Knowing that, I knew the Senior Bowl, combine, and pro day would be important for me but not necessarily as much as for some other people. At the end of the day it comes down to who can play and who can’t, and I knew I had a pretty solid body of work in my film resume so that was comforting for me. 

BH: Did you interview with the Dolphins at all prior to the draft, and if so, what kind of an impression did you think you left on them at the time?

 
AE: I had a chance to interview with the Dolphins at the Senior Bowl and I left the meeting very impressed. Mr. Ireland struck me as a very focused, driven person that has a clear vision for this team. I felt the same way about Coach Sparano.
BH: Has it sunk in yet that you are now an NFL player?
 
AE: I think it sunk in that I was in the NFL the first chance I had to speak with Coach Parcells. We had a nice conversation, and I think LT (Lawrence Taylor) might have come up. That’s kind of when it sunk in. But half the battle is knowing that you belong on the field, and not hoping so. Knowing that, it’s all about attitude and willingness to work and get better.

BH: What are some of the things that you enjoy doing off the field?

 
AE: I would say my main hobbies would be fishing and playing golf. Couldn’t think of a better place then Miami for both! I also have an interest in American history.
 
We would like to thank both A.J., and Diana Klochkova, one of the representatives for A.J.’s agency, JB Sports Inc. A.J. looks to have a promising career ahead of him, especially with his skills in coverage. Fins general manager Jeff Ireland said in his post draft interview that A.J. will most likely contribute right away in coverage situations.
 
Thanks again to both A.J. and Diana! It will be interesting to see how A.J. does this season, espcially with the depth that the Dolphins boast in their linebacking corps.  A.J. rounds out this group nicely, and like I said above, should be a key contributor this year!
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

